Indian Wedding Decor

I recently got married in the Royal Orchid Resorts, Yelahanka in Bangalore. We got a typical arranged marriage with old-fashioned rituals and the many many functions that went along with it.

Being the architect and designer that I am, I spent a lot of time with the decorator hand-picking every single element and prop that was used in the wedding. We spent hours and days working out color patterns and ideas and I’m gonna knock myself out by posting those photos here cus why not.

Of course most of the credit goes to my decorator for making my ideas a reality and making sure the detailing was perfect. And credits to Vivek Krishnan Photography.

  1. This is the decor and theme we adopted at home with yellow being the central concept. The haldi and mehndi functions happened here.

2. My mother-in-law made these baskets, pots and the sticks herself for the ritual. Gorgeous isn’t it?

3. This the decor for the outdoor sangeet we had with bangle stands and lamps and a throne (swing) for the bride and groom.

3. This is my favorite part of the venue – the traditional corridor. The guests entered through this area to the main corridor.

4. And that’s the mandap where the main rituals happen. Its made of yellow marigold flowers (locally available in Bangalore region).

About Aishwarya Katta

I'm a down-to-earth, candid architect! I love the arts and everything related to it! Other than designing, travelling and taking photos, I occasionally like to write about my experiences and thoughts.